R. L. Stine Returns to FEAR STREET with New Book Series!

On August 1, 1989, three years before giving GOOSEBUMPS to young readers everywhere, R. L. Stine launched his infamous young adult horror book series titled FEAR STREET. The books took place in a small Ohio town called Shadyside; a picturesque place where you could come to settle down… and die! Vampires, ghosts, and murderous teens ran rampant in Shadyside, and at the heart of all the evil sat Fear Street. If you thought Elm Street had a high body count, think again, fiends!

FEAR STREET was a hit and sold millions of copies worldwide. Now, it seems Stine is back to kill off even more teens with the first book in a new series… Return to FEAR STREET: You May Now Kill the Bride.

   

“Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible resentment she can barely contain.

Two Fear family weddings, decades apart… Each bride will find that the ancient curse that haunts the Fears LIVES ON. It feeds off the evil that courses through their blood. It takes its toll in unexpected ways, and allows dark history to repeat itself.

In this all-new Fear Street story, family ties bind sisters together—till DEATH do they part.”

A few years ago, R. L. Stine made a brief return to Fear Street with a six book series from Thomas Dunne Books. However, after the sixth book was released, the contract was not renewed so the rights have now shifted to HarperTeenReturn to FEAR STREET is being advertised as having a “retro look” and being “perfect for fans of Stranger Things!” It’s a smart way to go with Fear Street considering people are hungry for nostalgia. And what says nostalgia more to ’90s kids than R. L. Stine, right?

The time is also right for a fresh Fear Street book series considering filmmaker Leigh Janiak (Honeymoon, 2014) is bringing the series to the big screen in the coming years with a new movie trilogy. It is a great time to be a ’90s kid! Well… aside from the actual ’90s, of course.

So tell us, fiends, are you going to read the new Fear Street books? Are you excited for the long-awaited movies? Tell us your thoughts!

Return to FEAR STREET: You May Now Kill the Bride goes on sale August 9th, 2018. You can PRE-ORDER the paperback and ebook versions now.

Like our content? Support Nightmare on Film Street on Patreon!

Cameron Chaney

Cameron Chaney is the author of the horror novella There Are Monsters Here. When he’s not writing, he enjoys sharing his love of horror, books, and other nerdy things on his YouTube channel. You can also find his ramblings on Twitter. Don’t feed him after midnight.