AMC’s FearFest is coming back for it’s 21st year of scares! A staple for horror fans with cable, the long-tenured marathon of nightmares will premiere on Monday, October 23rd. While FearFest usually runs for two weeks, the first week will be occupied by AMC’s original series The Walking Dead. All 99 released episodes will be played in anticipation of the series’ Season 8 premiere.

This year’s marathon will include:

  • Halloween (1978)
  • Halloween 4
  • Halloween 5
  • Halloween 6
  • Halloween H20
  • Halloween 2 (2009)
  • A Nightmare on Elm Street
  • Wes Craven’s New Nightmare
  • Freddy vs Jason
  • Friday the 13th Pt. IX: Jason Goes To Hell
  • Jason X
  • Slither
  • Van Helsing
  • Army of Darkness
  • Hellbound: Hellraiser II
  • Army of Darkness
  • Lake Placid
  • Annabelle
  • Dreamcatcher
  • Thinner
  • Dawn of the Dead (2004)
  • Land of the Dead (2005)
  • House of the Dead
  • House of the Dead 2
  • House of Wax
  • House on Haunted Hill
  • Return to House on Haunted Hill
  • Jeepers Creepers
  • Child’s Play
  • Curse of Chucky

And as a major surprise, AMC FearFest will include the upcoming Child’s Play sequel Cult of Chucky! The news comes as a shock considering the film is first being released on VOD October 3rd, yet it does make sense once you consider it’s limited release. Creator/director Don Mancini has stated his desire to continue the killer doll series past Cult. What better way to get more audience exposure than to broadcast on a major network? Purely speculating, I believe Mancini might be making a power play to generate enough buzz to return the Child’s Play series back to the big screen.

As a fellow fiend and horror diehard, I can point to the annual AMC FearFest as the launchpad for my fandom. Of all the horror films I’ve seen in my lifetime, many I first saw on the marathon. I’m sure I’m not alone in hoping FearFest will be around to provide new generations of fans the same gift!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
  • Tumblr
  • reddit
  • Google+